My Symbolism

Spiritual Chakras2

I love the combining of symbols to express a philosophical idea in an artistic way.  The symbolic painting above was done in the wish to express the need for meditation in my life - it is a mantra for me.  I will try to decipher it for you -


        * You will see three triangles - a large one in the middle pointing down represents the female or spiritual world.  Then you will see two smaller triangles pointing upwards representing the male principle in the form of matter.

        * The larger spiritual downpointing triangle contains seven levels each with the symbol and color of that chakra - going up the spinal column in meditation.  The two upward triangles at the bottom represent the physical world of matter - big brother at the base is represented by the eye of Horus, the next level is the chemical symbol for testerone, followed by the skull and bones representing war and finally the dollar symbol representing greed.  

        *  At the extreme top you will see two symbols - one is for Venus - the Goddess of love and beauty; the other is for Jupiter the planet representing  expansion - two qualities needed for meditation and enlightenment.  At the extreme bottom you will find the color red which stands for blood and fire.  The symbols there are Mars - the God of War and Saturn - the planet of restriction.

        * On each side you will see the symbol of Yin and Yang.  On the left side (right brain) Yin is on the top representing balance and spirit.  On the right side (left brain) Yang or matter is on top representing the physical world as it is today.

        *  The four elemential Alchemical symbols surrounding Yin and Yang are Air (yellow and white) and Fire (red and orange) on the left side.  On the right side they are Water (blue) and Earth (green and brown).


The Seven Chakras in the large triangle are as follows working from the first one at the bottom to the top.


        1.  Root/support chakra - located at the base of the spine. Its function is survival and grounding, its inner state is stillness and stability, its color is red and its planets are Earth and Saturn. Its stones are: Garnet, Ruby, Onyx, Obsydian. Balancing this chakra gives energy to the physical body, controls fear, increases overall health and helps in grounding. Energies: Earth, Grounding, Focusing, Centering.  

            Meditation on: I am.

        2.  Navel/Sacral Chakra - located in the lower abdomen, genitals womb, its function is desire, sexuality, pleasure, procreation. Its inner state is tears, its color is orange and its celestial body is the Moon. Its stones are: Coral and Carnelian. Balancing this chakra is associated with sexual vitality, physical power and fertility. Energies: Fire, Energizing, Charging.  

            Meditation on: I feel.

         3.  Solar Plexus Chakra - located in the area above the navel area.  Its function is Will, power, its inner state is laughter, joy, anger, its color is yellow, and its planets are Mars and the Sun. Its stones are: Amber, Topaz and Citrine.  Balancing this chakra is associated with calming emotions and frustration, easing tension and helping to better utilize intuition.  Energies: Fire, Energizing, Charging, Lends Energy.

            Meditation on: I do.

         4.  Heart Chakra - located in the center of the chest. Its function is: love, its inner state is compassion, love, its color is green, and its planet is Venus. Its stones are: Green/Pink Stones - Peridot, Rose Quartz, Malachite. Balancing this chakra is important for the circulatory system, heart and thymus. It also affects spiritual love, compassion and universal oneness. Energies: Water, Calming, Soothes, Relaxes.  

            Meditation on: I love.

         5.  Throat Chakra - located in the throat Its function is communication, creativity. Its inner state is synthesis of ideas into symbols. Its color is bright blue and its planets are Mercury and Neptune. Its stones are: Sodalite, Blue Lace Agate, Lapis Lazuli.  Balancing this chakra is important for the speech and communication areas of the brain. Energies: Water, Calming, Sooths, Relaxes.  

            Meditation on: I speak.

         6.  Third Eye Chakra - located in the center of the forehead above the eyebrows. Its function is seeing, intuiting. Its inner state is: I know. Its color is indigo and its planet is Jupiter. Its stone is: Iolite.  Balancing this chakra helps psychic perception and balances the pineal gland. Energies: Air, Meditative, Intuition, Promotes thought.

            Its meditation is: I see.

         7.  Crown Chakra - located at the top of the head. Its function is understanding. Its inner state is: bliss. Its color is Violet and its planet is Uranus. Its stone is Amethyst.  Balancing this chakra is said to give vitality to the

cerebrum and affects the development of psychic abilities.  Energies: Air, Meditative, Intuition, Promotes thought.                                     Its meditation is: I understand.

by - Nancy Terrell

Sophie Reading - small



The name Sophia means WISDOM.  Here is a young

woman reading a letter or perhaps a study of some type of instructions.  She is surrounded by the Celtic symbols for womanhood.  From the top left clockwise


3 FOLD - The universal symbol for maiden, mother and crone.  The 3 in 1 or the original Trinity.


5 FOLD - Balance and the four elements


ARWEN - Balance - the male and female with balance in the middle.


TRIQUATRA - The Holy Spirit of the feminine - unified


TRISKELION - Perfection or running to keep up


TRIPLE SPIRAL - Symbol for the three ages of women - youth, adult, elder


SINGLE SPIRAL - Growth and experience.  Starting in the center, at birth, and working ourward but retaining unity.


CELTIC CROSS - The cross represents the bridge between heaven and earth with the 4 elements/seasons in th circle.